LongIslandJam.com (Long Island Racing News Site):  News

Chat Classifieds Events Forum Links Shop SIM


Largest Rookie Class In NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour History Takes Aim At Spring Sizzler


    Daytona Beach, FL — The NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour’s largest contingent of rookie drivers in series history will be among the competitors attempting to qualify for one of the 33 starting spots at the Carquest Tech-Net Spring Sizzler at Stafford Motor Speedway on April 30th.

    A total of 14 competitors have registered as Sunoco Rookie of The Year candidates, eclipsing the mark of 2004 when 10 rookie drivers registered at the start of the season.

    After one event James Civali of Meriden, Conn. leads the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings as he was the highest finishing rookie at the series opener in Thompson, Conn. after placing sixth. Mike Andrews of Ridge, N.Y. is second in the standings. Andrews finished 7th and was the only other rookie driver in the Top 10 at Thompson.

    Other rookie candidates who scored points at Thompson and will be looking to add to their season total at Stafford include: Jon McKennedy of Chelmsford, Mass., Ronnie Silk of Norwalk, Conn., Anthony Sesely of Matawan, N.J., Ron Yuhas, of Groton. Conn., Eric Berndt of Rocky Hill, Conn., Danny Sammons of Hamilton, N.J., Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa., and Glen Tyler of Hampton Bays, N.Y.

    Joe Hartman and Ken Heagy both from Calverton, N.Y., Joseph Mongeau of Brick, N.J. and Chris Pasteryak of Lisbon, Conn. are all registered rookies looking to qualify for their first event of 2006 at the Sizzler.

    The Sunoco Rookie of the Year award is determined by a “race within the race.” The highest finishing Rookie earns 10 points, the second highest earns 9 points and the points are reduced by one until 10th place. If there are more than 10 rookies in the race any driver who finishes 10th or worse earns a point. The final number of competition points earned by each driver will be based on his/her highest finish in 75% of the races during the season.

    At season’s end, the top rookie wins a $3,500 bonus from Sunoco, the official fuel of NASCAR.

    The Carquest Tech-Net Spring Sizzler is one of the most prestigious events on the Whelen Modified Tour. It’s an event victory every veteran driver wants on their resume. The 2006 version of the Sizzler will have large group of new faces eager to make this history-laden event their first career win on the series.

Sizzler Notes:
* Posted Awards: $90,963
* Bud Pole Qualifying is scheduled for 1:00 p.m. on April 29. The fastest 28 cars will transfer.
* Five provisional positions (Two based on 2005 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour owner points, two on 2005 driver points and one past champion provisional) will bring the starting field to 33 cars.
* The 200 lap race is schedule to start at 2:30 p.m. on Sunday, April 30.
* Drivers currently competing on the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour who have scored Sizzler victories include: John Blewett (01), Ted Christopher (2) (02&03), Mike Ewanitsko (2) (94&95), Rick Fuller (3) (92,99,& 00),Tony Hirschman (05), Reggie Ruggiero (2) (87&93) and Mike Stefanik (89,90,97 & 98)
* The series qualifying record at Stafford is 18.102 seconds (99.437 mph) set by Mike Ewanitsko in 2001.
* The Carquest Tech Net Spring Sizzler is the first of four series events scheduled to be held at Stafford in 2006.
* The Pit Party, a Stafford Tradition, is scheduled for 11:00 a.m. on Sunday April 30 allowing fans an opportunity to meet their favorite drivers and see the cars up close.

                                      THE END

Source: Mark Mockovak/NASCAR WMT PR
Posted:  April 27, 2006




















©2000-2006 LongIslandJam.com/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.