LongIslandJam.com (Long Island Racing News Site):  News

Chat Classifieds Events Forum Links Shop SIM


Donny Lia Lands On the Pole At Thompson

    Donny Lia of Jericho, N.Y. recorded his second NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Bud Pole Award of the season by setting fast time in qualifying for Sunday’s Sunoco Modified Mania at Thompson International Speedway. Lia circled the 5/8 mile track in 18.793 seconds for an average speed of 119.725 mph. He was just 5/1000 of a second ahead of defending series champion Tony Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. who recorded a speed of 119.694 mph.
    Reggie Ruggiero of Rocky Hill, Conn. was third fastest and current NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour point leader Mike Steafnik of Coventry R.I was fourth fastest. Matt Hirschman of Northampton, Pa. rounded out the Top-5 in qualifying.
The 10 fastest qualifiers drew their starting position for Sunday’s 150 lap race. Ronnie Silk of Norwalk, Conn. picked the pole and will the joined on the front row by Matt Hirschman. Tony Ferrante, Jr. will start third and Tony Hirschman will start the race from the fourth position. Stefanik will start 7th, Ruggiero 8th and Lia 9th. Ted Christopher, currently second in the series point standings, will start 16th.
    Last week’s winner, Jimmy Blewett, had his time disallowed because of an unapproved modification to the front end after technical inspection. He will start 36th.

Starting Lineup for Sundays 150 lap Sunoco Modified Mania NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Thompson International Speedway showing car number, driver, hometown and qualifying speed in mph. The Top-10 qualifiers drew for starting position.

1.  (19) Ronnie Silk, Norwalk Conn., Chevrolet, 118.796
2.  (59) Matt Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Dodge, 119.092
3.  (31) Anthony Ferrante, Jr, Franklin Square, Chevrolet, 118.683
4.  (48) Tony Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 119.694
5.   (3)  Eric Beers, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 118.960
6.   (6)  Ron Yuhas, Groton Conn., Chevrolet, 118.960
7.  (16) Mike Stefanik, Coventry R.I., Chevrolet, 119.193
8.  (41) Reggie Ruggiero, Rocky Hill Conn., Chevrolet, 119.363
9.  (18) Donny Lia, Jericho N.Y., Chevrolet, 119.725
10.  (4) Jerry Marquis, Broad Brook Conn., Dodge, 118.640
11. (76) Thomas Bolles, Ellington Conn., Chevrolet, 118.602
12. (00) Rick Fuller, Auburn Mass., Chevrolet, 118.421
13. (15) Zach Sylvester, Lebanon Conn., Chevrolet, 118.477
14.  (2) Todd Szegedy, Ridgefield Conn., Ford, 118.377
15. (28) James Civali, Meriden Conn., Chevrolet, 118.290
16. (36) Ted Christopher, Plainville Conn., Chevrolet, 118.278
17. (73) Jon McKennedy, Chelsford Mass., Chevrolet, 118.191
18. (10) Eddie Flemke, Southington Conn., Chevrolet, 118.178
19. (21) Ken Barry, Griswold Conn., Chevrolet, 118.147
20. (64) Eric Berndt, Rocky Hill Conn., Chevrolet, 117.943
21. (77) Doug Coby, Milford Conn., Pontiac, 117.850
22. (11) Anthony Sesely, Matawan N.J., Chevrolet, 117.776
23. (66) John Blewett, III, Howell N.J., Chevrolet, 117.746
24. (06) Steve Whitt, Farmingdale N.J., Dodge, 117.727
25.  (0) Danny Sammons, Trenton N.J., Chevrolet, 117.481
26. (47) Jimmy Storace, Kingston N.H., Chevrolet, 117.114
27. (58) Kevin Goodale, Riverhead N.Y., Chevrolet, 116.999
28. (75) Carl Pasteryak, Lisbon Conn., Pontiac, 116.980
29.  (5) Chris Pasteryak, Lisbon Conn., Chevrolet, 116.883
30. (46) Dick Houlihan, Bridgewater Mass., Chevrolet, 116.792
31. (79) Chuck Hossfeld, Buffalo N.Y., Pontiac, provisional
32. (99) Jamie Tomaino, Howell N.J., Ford, provisional
33. (33) Wade Cole, Riverton Conn., Chevrolet, provisional
34.  (9) Jake Marosz, Middletown Conn., Chevrolet, provisional
35. (90) Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury Conn., Chevrolet, provisional
36. (12) Jimmy Blewett, Howell N.J., Chevrolet, No speed

Source:  Mark Mockovak/NASCAR WMT PR
Posted:  September 9, 2006




















©2000-2006 LongIslandJam.com/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.