LongIslandJam.com (Long Island Racing News Site):  News > WMT Seekonk Speedway

Chat Classifieds Events Forum Links Shop SIM



SEEKONK, Mass. (July 30, 2005) --Eric Beers of Northampton, Pa. drove to the first career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory of his career in the Whelen Modified Tour 150 at Seekonk Speedway. Beers passed current series point leader Ted Christopher of Plainville Conn. on lap 31 and held of challenges first from Christopher and then eventual runner-up John Blewett, III over the final 30 laps.

“It’s an awesome feeling to get your first win,” said Beers. “I knew I had to get Ted in the early part of the race. He raced me clean and I was able to get by. I knew John would be tough at the end but I had a great car all race so I was able to hold him off.”

Beers completed a clean sweep for the evening as he set fast time in qualifying to earn the Bud Pole Award. He led the most laps of the race in the Roby’s Propane/Reynolds Auto Wrecking Chevrolet to claim the Tommy Baldwin Memorial Award. He now sits eighth in the point standings despite missing the second race of the season while recovering from injuries suffered at the series opener.

Blewett’s second place finish in the G. Lopes Construction Dodge was his best of the season. Jerry Marquis, winner of the last NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race, finished third in the Reynolds Auto Wrecking Dodge.

Defending series champion Tony Hirschman finished fourth in the Kamco Supply Chevrolet and pulled within 60 points of leader Christopher. Christopher finished 17th Doug Coby rounded out the Top-5 in the Mansfield Paper Pontiac with his second Top-5 finish in the last three races.

The Top-10 qualifiers drew for starting position. Dave Berghman picked the pole and was joined on the front row by Ted Christopher. Beers drew the sixth starting position.

At the drop of the green Christopher jumped to the lead. Beers wasted little time moving to the front. By lap 12 he was third and one lap later he passed Bergman for second. After shadowing Christopher he made the pass for the win on lap 31.

The next race fore the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour is at The Riverhead Raceway in Riverhead, N.Y. on Saturday Aug. 6.

SEEKONK, Mass. - Unofficial results of the Whelen Modified Tour 150, NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour race at Seekonk Speedway showing starting position in parentheses, driver, hometown, make of car, laps completed, reason out if any and money won.


      Seekonk Speedway July 30, 2005

      1. (6) Eric Beers, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 150, 61.477 mph, $7,700

      2. (9) John Blewett, III, Howell N.J., Dodge, 150, $3,700

      3. (16) Jerry Marquis, Broad Brook Conn., Dodge, 150, $3,400

      4. (13) Tony Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 150, $3,600

      5. (17) Doug Coby, Milford Conn., Pontiac, 150, $2,500

      6. (15) Chuck Hossfeld, Buffalo N.Y., Ford, 150, $2,300

      7. (8) Tommy Cravenho, Jr, Raynham Mass., Chevrolet, 150, $1,400

      8. (12) Zach Sylvester, Lebanon Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $2,100

      9. (19) Rick Fuller, Auburn Mass., Pontiac, 150, $2,050

      10. (4) Donny Lia, Jericho N.Y., Chevrolet, 150, $2,000

      11. (1) Dave Berghman, Rehoboth Mass., Chevrolet, 150, $1,475

      12. (7) Eric Berndt, Rocky Hill Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $1,550

      13. (28) Dave Etheridge, Portland Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $1,975

      14. (21) Dick Houlihan, Bridgewater Mass., Chevrolet, 150, $1,450

      15. (5) Mike Christopher, Plainville Conn., Pontiac, 150, $1,725

      16. (26) Chris Kopec, Palmer Mass., Chevrolet, 150, $1,700

      17. (2) Ted Christopher, Plainville Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $1,775

      18. (30) Jimmy Storace, Kingston N.H., Chevrolet, 150, $1,350

      19. (24) Gregg Shivers, Rocky Point N.Y., Pontiac, 150, $1,625

      20. (11) Ken Barry, Griswold Conn., Chevrolet, 150, $1,800

      21. (27) Jamie Tomaino, Howell N.J., Ford, 150, $1,675

      22. (14) Tyler Haydt, Kunkletown Pa., Chevrolet, 150, $1,250

      23. (22) Eddie Flemke, Southington Conn., Chevrolet, 149, $1,525

      24. (10) Steve Whitt, Farmingdale N.J., Dodge, 148, $1,500

      25. (29) Kevin Goodale, Riverhead N.Y., Chevrolet, 147, $1,175

      26. (23) Carl Pasteryak, Lisbon Conn., Pontiac, 142, $750

      27. (3) Matt Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Dodge, 117, Handling, $750

      28. (20) Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury Conn., Chevrolet, 92, $1,450

      29. (18) Kevin Konopka, Meriden Conn., Dodge, 72, Rear End, $1,450

      30. (25) Wade Cole, Riverton Conn., Chevrolet, 21, Oil Leak, $1,150

      Failed to Qualify: (1) Jake Marosz (#9).

      Time of Race: 0 hrs., 48 mins, 45 secs Average Speed: 61.477 mph  Margin of Victory: .26 seconds

      BUD POLE AWARD: Eric Beers, 3 Roby's Propane/Reynolds Auto Chevrolet

      FEATHERLITE MOST IMPROVED DRIVER AWARD: John Blewett, III, 00 G. Lopes Construction/Sherm's Dodge

      POWERADE POWER MOVE OF THE RACE: Dave Etheridge, 54 A & A Office System Chevrolet

      TOMMY BALDWIN MEMORIAL AWARD: Eric Beers, 3 Roby's Propane/Reynolds Auto Chevrolet

      Caution Flags: Laps 15-19; 36-44; 48-52; 68-73; 90-95; 99-103; 118-121; 131-134. 8 for 44 laps.

      Lap Leaders: Ted Christopher 1-30, Eric Beers 31-150.

      Total Laps Led: Eric Beers 120, Ted Christopher 30. 1 changes involving 2 drivers.

Unofficial Top 20 Driver Points: Ted Christopher 1406, Tony Hirschman 1346, Chuck Hossfeld 1322, Jerry Marquis 1234, Donny Lia 1218, Rick Fuller 1206, Doug Coby 1203, Eric Beers 1188, Zach Sylvester 1183, Mike Christopher 1103, Chris Kopec 1083, Jamie Tomaino 1063, Eddie Flemke 1040, Steve Whitt 929, Ken Barry 907, Gregg Shivers 903, Tyler Haydt * 892, Renee Dupuis 882, Kevin Konopka 879, Nevin George 862

      Next Race: Riverhead, N.Y.


2005 WMT Season Coverage                                           THE END

Source: Mark Mockovak/NASCAR WMT PR
Posted:  July 30, 2005




















©2000-2005 LongIslandJam.com/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.