LongIslandJam.com (Long Island Racing News Site):  News > WMT NHIS

Chat Classifieds Events Forum Links Shop SIM




LOUDON, N.H. (Sept. 16, 2005) – Ted Christopher won the Sylvania 100 presented by Lowe’s NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour event at New Hampshire International Speedway, his seventh win of the season and fourth consecutive Whelen Modified Tour victory at the 1.058-mile track. Mike Stefanik finished second, followed by Chuck Hofssfeld, Mike Ewanitsko and Eddie Flemke in fifth place.


With his victory, Christopher collected over $13,000 in prize money and increased his championship points lead over Tony Hirschman. Christopher, of Plainville, Conn., now leads Hirschman by 61 points (2,503-2,442).


It wasn’t his only trip to victory lane on Friday, either. With a victory over Brad Leighton in the day’s first race, Christopher became the second driver in history to win both the Whelen Modified Tour and NASCAR Grand National Division, Busch North Series events in the same day at NHIS – a feat first accomplished in 1991 by Mike McLaughlin.


Following the race, Christopher was in awe to match McLaughlin’s longstanding achievement.


“I always enjoyed watching Mike McLaughlin,” Christopher said. “He was definitely a hero of mine. I loved watching him race Modifieds and everything. To reach the same feat as he did is definitely an accomplishment for me.”


Christopher began the race in the first position, as the starting lineup was set by car owner points after Bud Pole qualifying was rained out Thursday. Hirschman started on the outside of the front row but quickly lost the second position to Eric Beers on the first lap.


Stefanik had raced his way forward from the ninth starting position and was challenging Christopher for the lead on the 10th lap. Stefanik slipped back one position, to third, as Doug Coby made a run towards the front just two laps later. Coby and Christopher exchanged the lead on the 13th and 15th laps, before Stefanik took a turn at the front from laps 17-25. Stefanik, a six-time Whelen Modified Tour champion, yielded to Christopher, who returned to the lead as Coby continued to battle for the second position.


On the 32nd circuit, Coby returned to the lead by passing Christopher in turn one, before yielding once again to Stefanik on lap 42. Just before the halfway point of the race, another caution period slowed the field and the race leaders went to pit road for fresh tires. Eddie Flemke and Charlie Pasteryak had the fastest pit stops and race off pit road. Ewanitsko, who started in the 38th position in his return to Modified Tour competition after a more than a year absence, elected not to pit during the caution period and inherited the race lead.


With Flemke on fresher tires, he soon stole the lead from Ewanitsko, just as the field was brought under caution on lap 59. Christopher and Ewanitsko then jumped past Flemke to claim the first and second positions, just before the event’s sixth yellow flag was display for a two-car incident in turn one.


With 25 laps remaining, Christopher paced the field as Stefanik, Ewanitsko and Flemke kept the pressure on. With 15 laps remaining, Stefanik passed Christopher for the lead, only to be re-passed by Christopher on the following lap as the veteran drivers battled for victory. The Whelen Modified Tour returns to action Oct. 2 at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford Springs, Conn.

Unofficial Results

Sylvania 100 presented by Lowe's


New Hampshire International Speedway    September 16, 2005


(Showing finishing position, starting position in parentheses, driver name, hometown, manufacturer, laps completed, winner's average speed, reason out-if any and money won.)


1.  (7) Ted Christopher, Plainville Conn., Chevrolet, 100, 92.267 mph, $13,950

2. (17) Mike Stefanik, Coventry R.I., Chevrolet, 100, $10,400

3. (23) Chuck Hossfeld, Buffalo N.Y., Ford, 100, $8,400

4. (34) Mike Ewanitsko, West Hempstead N.Y., Dodge, 100, $6,200

5. (27) Eddie Flemke, Southington Conn., Chevrolet, 100, $4,500

6.  (5) Tony Hirschman, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 100, $4,700

7.  (1) Doug Coby, Milford Conn., Pontiac, 100, $3,600

8. (19) Donny Lia, Jericho N.Y., Chevrolet, 100, $3,500

9. (10) Eric Beers, Northampton Pa., Chevrolet, 100, $3,300

10.  (3) John Blewett, III, Howell N.J., Chevrolet, 100, $3,100

11. (12) Charlie Pasteryak, Lisbon Conn., Chevrolet, 100, $2,900

12. (18) Jerry Marquis, Broad Brook Conn., Dodge, 100, $3,000

13. (15) Tommy Cloce, Canton N.Y., Chevrolet, 100, $2,400

14. (22) Nevin George, Kunkletown Pa., Chevrolet, 100, $2,700

15. (38) Steve Whitt, Farmingdale N.J., Dodge, 100, $2,600

16. (35) Anthony Sesley, Matawan N.J., Chevrolet, 100, $2,100

17. (39) Jeff Malave, Manchester Conn., Chevrolet, 100, $2,000

18.  (9) Dave Etheridge, Portland Conn., Chevrolet, 100, $2,375

19. (30) Jimmy Storace, Kingston N.H., Chevrolet, 99, $2,350

20. (11) Jamie Tomaino, Howell N.J., Chevrolet, 99, $2,325

21. (25) Kevin Goodale, Riverhead N.Y., Chevrolet, 99, $2,300

22. (16) Tyler Haydt, Kunkletown Pa., Chevrolet, 97, $2,275

23. (31) Wade Cole, Riverton Conn., Chevrolet, 95, $2,250

24. (32) Jake Marosz, Middletown Conn., Chevrolet, 91, Handling, $1,825

25. (21) Jimmy Blewett, Howell N.J., Chevrolet, 73, Black Flag, $1,800

26.  (8) Rick Fuller, Auburn Mass., Pontiac, 73, Black Flag, $2,275

27.  (6) Mike Christopher, Plainville Conn., Pontiac, 68, Transmission, $2,225

28. (26) Todd Bodine, Chemung N.Y., Chevrolet, 64, Accident, $1,700

29. (28) Dick Houlihan, Bridgewater Mass., Chevrolet, 62, Handling, $2,078

30. (20) Zach Sylvester, Lebanon Conn., Chevrolet, 58, Electrical, $2,150

31. (14) Ken Bouchard, Fitchburg Mass., Chevrolet, 46, Rear End, $1,645

32. (13) Renee Dupuis, Glastonbury Conn., Chevrolet, 21, Accident, $2,000

33. (29) Kevin Konopka, Meriden Conn., Dodge, 17, Electrical, $2,000

34. (37) Ryan Seaman, Toms River N.J., Chevrolet, 10, Suspension, $1,600

35. (36) Rob Summers, Manchester Conn., Ford, 10, Handling, $1,600

36. (24) Mike Molleur, Shelton Conn., Chevrolet, 9, Engine, $1,600

37. (40) Eddie MacDonald, Rowley Mass., Chevrolet, 6, Ignition, $1,600

38.  (2) Reggie Ruggiero, Rocky Hill Conn., Chevrolet, 5, Accident, $1,600

39. (33) Don Wagner, Dover N.J., Chevrolet, 1, Suspension, $1,600


Time of Race:    1 hrs., 8 mins, 48 secs  

Average Speed: 92.267 mph      

Margin of Victory: 0.207 Seconds

FEATHERLITE MOST IMPROVED DRIVER AWARD:  Charlie Pasteryak, 5 Dawley's Auto Center/Sunoco Chevrolet

POWERADE POWER MOVE OF THE RACE AWARD:  Mike Ewanitsko, 36 Northeast Race Cars/Al Lee Installations Dodge


Caution Flags:   Laps 1-4; 44-48; 49-53; 55-57; 59-62; 65-68.  6 for 25 laps.

Lap Leaders:     Ted Christopher 1-13, Doug Coby 14, Ted Christopher 15-17, Mike Stefanik 18-25, Ted Christopher 26-30, Mike Stefanik 31, Doug Coby 32-41, Mike Stefanik 42-45, Mike Ewanitsko 46-57, Eddie Flemke 58-64, Ted Christopher 65-85, Mike Stefanik 86, Ted Christopher 87-100.

Total Laps Led:  Ted Christopher 56, Mike Stefanik 14, Mike Ewanitsko 12, Doug Coby 11, Eddie Flemke 7.  12 changes involving 5 drivers.

* Denotes Sunoco Rookie of the Year Contender



2005 WMT Season Coverage                                           THE END

Source: Jeremy Davidson/NASCAR PR
Posted:  September 16, 2005




















©2000-2005 LongIslandJam.com/Wolf Pack Ventures, Inc.